The City of Subotica is located on the north of the Republic of Serbia, along the main European corridors and between two rivers: the Danube and the Tisa. Rich cultural heritage assets, lavishly decorated buildings, multicultural spirit, and European charm – these are the features that make this city distinctive. Subotica is known for its relaxed atmosphere, good food, and quality wines. Festivals, events, concerts, vibrant cultural life all year long are a reason more to visit our city. On top of that, Subotica offers a lot of interesting places for rest and leisure, for activities around the lakes, on horse-farms, farmsteads, in forests and hunting areas.

Palić, the lake, and the settlement by the same name are 8 kilometres east of Subotica. Palić offers something new, unrepeatable, and enriching at any season. Outstanding facilities from the beginning of the 20th century: the Water Tower, the Grand Terrace, the Women’s Lido, and the Music Pavilion, the splendid park, the well-known lake, peace, and silence make Palić an ideal space for relaxation. Currently, Palić provides high category hotels, regenerated luxury and comfortable villas in the so-called “Palić style”, several lodgings, and private boarding houses. Excellent restaurants and cafés, sport and recreational fields, three arranged beaches, a thermal pool, a Zoo, cycle lanes, walking paths, a set of versatile events,  dynamic cultural life, and entertainment possibilities and contents comprise the comprehensive offer of the Palić Tourist Centre.

Subotica, with its suburbs, has 140.000 inhabitants and is closely connected with the old summer resort and the Palić lake which is some 7 km from the city. Settlements in the municipality of Subotica are: Bajmok, Bački Vinogradi, Bačko Dušanovo, Bikovo, Višnjevac, Gornji Tavankut, Donji Tavankut, Đurđin, Kelebija, Ljutovo, Mala Bosna, Mišićevo, Novi Žednik, Stari Žednik, Palić, Subotica, Hajdukovo, Čantavir, Šupljak.


Subotica was, for the first time, mentioned in written documents in 1391 as Zabatka. Since then it has changed more than 200 names. The most characteristic names were: Szent-Maria, Maria Theresiopolis, Maria Theresienstadt, Szabadka, and Subotica.

It became a settlement of greater significance after the Tatar conquests at the beginning of the 13th century. Then, those who had survived from the nearby villages were brought together at the strategically chosen place, the elevation then surrounded by water, on which the Franciscan church stands today. It was the ideal place for the people of the plain to defend themselves against the conquerors.

For a long time, at the border of the two clashed powers, Hungarian and Turkish, the settlement did not grow. Subotica began to develop as a town only after it had lost its military significance. In 1779 Subotica got the status of the Free Royal City that brought greater autonomy and privileges to the town and also attracted entrepreneurs: craftsmen and traders from Middle Europe.

In the second half of the 19th century, after the railway came to the town (1869), the trade of agricultural and cattle products abruptly developed. Industrialization came into the town at the end of the 19th century. Subotica became a modern Middle European city.

After WW II, Vojvodina provinces were united with the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats, and Slovenians (Treaty of Trianon in 1920) and in 1929 Subotica was affiliated to the new state, the Kingdom of Yugoslavia. Since then Subotica has not changed its name but the country has – five times. During WW II, Subotica shared the ill-fate as the rest of Europe. Reconstruction of the country and economic growth followed until the turbulent times in the 90s.

Address: Trg slobode 1, Subotica
Phone: +381 (0)24 670 350

Tourist Organization of Subotica is a city organization for promoting and improving tourism in both the domestic and foreign tourism markets to affirm the value and potential of the town’s tourist industry. The mission of the Tourist Organization of Subotica is to position Subotica and Palić, on the domestic and international markets, as the heart of the Pannonian Plain, a multi-ethnic town rich in culture, beautiful nature, hospitable people, buzzing nightlife, exquisite cuisine, quality wines and attractions galore.

Working hours:
Monday-Friday 8 am-4 pm
Saturday 9 am-1 pm


nearby the Men’s Strand 50 m from the lake Outdoor thermal pool showers / WC changing rooms Water is thermal and healing (sodium hydro-carbonate-sulphide-iodine water). The temperature is 36C. Therapeutic indications: rheumatic conditions, posttraumatic conditions of the locomotor apparatus – rehabilitation and recovery; organized activities: aquarobics, swimming lessons; relaxing massage, manicure and pedicure. The pool…