The rectory was founded in 1750., and before that, the Francs from Subotica were doing the church services. The temple was built in 1768. During the fight for the freedom in 1848., while the city was occupied it burnt. 1857. it was renovated, in 1911., rebuilt and reconstructed and in 1934., painted again. The inner space was restored in 1992., and since 2002., it has continually been renovated outside. The roof was completely changed, with the help of the local authorities. There are church services every day at 6.30 AM, and on Sundays and celebrations at 8.30 AM also, or evening services, in Summer at 18.00 PM and in winter at 17.00 PM. Recorded groups can visit the interior of the temple any time.
“The Big Church”, was built in classical style of a late baroque, and is really big: it is 62m long, 15m wide, and the belfry is 48,5m high with five bells. The temple is in the very center of the town. The rector of the church is Jožef Lajko.