On the place where the streams Tekeniš and Čitluk flow into the Danube there is the village Banoštor which got its name from the Benedict monastery which was started by Ban Bjeloš (Beluš or Belus), The Hungarian Duke. This monastery, very big rectory of St. the First Martyr and Archbishop Stefan, ban Bjeloš built on his own land, about middle of XII or to be more precise, as Kukuljević said, exactly in 1145. The Benedicts were, from 1176 – to 1180., sent away from the monastery by the canonists of St. Abraham from Hebron valley. After a while there was the complete destruction of the only known European part of the Hebron canon community. On the order of the Pope Inocent III these monks left the monastery very soon, and in 1229., Banoštor became the center of Srem`s rectory on the order of the Pope Grgur IX. Two years later, catholic archbishop gave the order for buiding the buildings and the cathedral. That way Banoštor was the center of renovated Srem`s rectory until XV century. Till today there are not found any remains of the previous dukes of the monastery, so there is no evidence except the written documents in this area. When Turks came (1521 – 1929) everything was ruined so it is unknown where its place was. However, there is the pillar which is supposed to be from the previous church. The pillar has very rich decoration. The new catholic church was built by the Duke Rudolf Chotek from Futog on his own and on his own land. In the summer of 1910., the base was made, and the base stone was put on June, 23rd 1912. and also blessed. In the summer of 1913. the constructors works were completely over and to the end of October in the same year the church was completely filled with the inventory. Three richly decorated bells were put into the tower. Blessing of the church was done on April, 17th 1914. on the day of St. Rudolf who is also the protector of the church. As the citizens of the village were mostly Germans the church was called The German. That name is in use in Banoštor till today. After the war when the Germans left Banoštor, the church of St. Rudolf was rapidly ruined and we can see only walls which remained of the past time. There is no catholic family in the village now, but still people in the department for cultural protection think that it should not be destroyed but on contrary preserved and saved till the final destruction.
Address : Banoštor