The Slovak Evangelists came in Petrovac in 1745 and brought the Kraliska Bible and Tranoscijus (religious scriptures )with them. From the very beginning they could not freely express their religion. They were forced to listen to the service at the Roman Catholic rite in Futog. Although they were forbidden to meet in public, their ministries were carried out secretly in their homes or they went to Piliš and Komloš (Hungary).
Times changed by issuing the Tolerant patent by Josef II 1781. The evangelists got the right to manage their church organization themselves. The first church was built in 1783 and the first priest was Ondrej Sztehlo (originating from Piliš).
Petrovac became the center of spiritual life of Slovaks in Bačka. Ondrej Sztehla was inherited by his son Jan in 1818 and he launched an initiative to build a new bigger church because the old building was no longer fulfilling its function due to the large increase in population. The residents of Petrovac started up the initiative in 1821 and invited the architect Jacob Schmaus originating from Novi Vrbas. The carpentry job was entrusted to Johan Barten from Buljkes, and carpenter Albert Pekar from Buljkes manufactured windows. The construction was completed in 1823.
In the next few years the construction projects had not been carried out at all. But in 1837- 1838 building of the parish house beside the church began. It was modernly equipped for the time being.
Juraj Mrva took over the management of Petrovac church in 1868. During his management Karol Miloslav Lehocký decorated the altar with his work of art, the painting called The Last Supper. The cultural activity among Slovaks in Petrovac and its surrounding area was developed by the effort of Karol Miloslav Lehocký.
Renovation of the church was undertaken on several occasions to keep the original look.