Adresa: Maršala Tita 105, Novo Miloševo

Telefon: +381 (0)63 536 730 (Dragan Rauški)

Museum of Local History "Kotarka" in Novo Miloševo is located in the building that belongs to the aristocratic family estate with the castle Karačonji. Bogdan Karačonji bought from Viennese court large estate Beodra (now part of Novo Miloševo) for 105.000 forints in 1781.

As soon as in 1805 Beodra acquired the status of a small town and intensive construction works began. During the nineteenth century this estate comprised over 50 facilities, among which are two magnificent classicist castles (older built in 1841 which has been preserved to this day), mausoleum church built in 1841, a large grain warehouse with the additional facilities in 1834...

Among the additional facilities "Kotarka" stands out - a building for storing corn, which was used for other purposes later in the second half of the nineteenth century, but managed to keep its authentic look. Classical elements and a multitude of Doric columns, fully follow the stylistic features of the complex and make the building unique.

The realization of the idea of converting the building "Kotarka" to the Museum, began in 1994 by creating all the necessary technical documentation. Since then, an intensive collecting artifacts for future local history collection began. Today it counts over4,500 exhibits.

Works on the reconstruction of the building began in 2001 and they are continuously been performed until the present day. At the end of 2006, the decoration of the part of the building with three exhibition halls and archive office was completed.

In the first hall, the history of urban and architectural development of Novo Miloševo is presented, family Karačonji's aristocratic history and three ecclesiastical parishes (two parishes of the Serbian Orthodox church and one Roman Catholic), trade, crafts and children's corner, as well as exhibits related to the fire department, which was established in 1889.

The unique part is dedicated to the two replicas: the bachelorette ball dress and Andor Karačonji's servant uniform.

This unity comprises documents related to the life and work of two famous Miloševo residents of that time: Dr. Dorde Joanović (1871 -1932), one of the founders of the medical school in Belgrade and Teodor Pavlović (1804-1854), journalist and reformer of Matica Srpska.

Another room is devoted to the presentation of textile handicrafts and furniture. Rugs (XIX - XX century), with one front side and two front sides, with geometric and floral patterns, towels, parts of traditional costumes, golden embroidery, trousseau items (Serbian archaic "štafir"), loom, distaff, hemp tool, winch cotton, embroidery tools, kitchenware and similar utensils make rounded thematic unit.

The third room displays guestroom or the front room with a bed, a bench, a table and chairs, cupboards, patchwork and rugs as well as other interesting details that complement and illustrate the life of the typical landlord's family from the late nineteenth century. Of course there are icons between two windows in the room as well as framed family photos and chain wall watch.

The second part of "Kotarka" with authentic wooden structure was reconstructed in 2011 and it is entirely dedicated to agriculture. Wooden "long" car, dishes, "summer kitchen" with all the utensils for food preparation (In Serbia people often build separate units next to their houses which are used only for preparing food in summer), a sleigh, and tiny agricultural tools are located in the central part of the building.

Agricultural machinery and tools, carts, winnowing grain, scales, plough, wine barrels, spraying machine, flour coffin, hearse and numerous photographs illustrate the development of agriculture during I the XIX and XX century.

In front of the building there are tombstones which represent the beginning of the Lapidarium.