The monastery Grgeteg is situated on the southern slope of Fruška Gora mounain near the village Grgeteg former monastery Prnjavor. Grgeteg with the Church of St. Nicholas was founded, according to tradition, the monastery was found by Zmaj Ognjeni Vuk in 1470. The earliest historical records about the monastery date back to 1545/1546. The monastery was abandoned before the Great Migration and renovated in 1708, by Metropolitan Isaija Ðaković. Around 1770, the present Baroque church was built, and it was renovated , according to the project of the architect Herman Bolle, in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. At that time residences that surround the four sides of the church were rebuilt as well. The old iconostasis, work of Jakov Orfelin from 1772 until 1774 was pulled down during the restoration of the monastery. The icons on the current iconostasis were painted by Uroš Predić in 1901 and 1902.
Address : Branka Radičevića bb, Grgeteg
Phone : +381 (0)22 24 64 199