The Kovilj Monastery is the Serbian Orthodox Monastery situated in Bačka region, in the northern Serbian Province of Vojvodina. The Kovilj Monastery is situated near the village of Kovilj in the Municipality of Novi Sad. According to the legend, the monastery was founded by the first Serb Archbishop Saint Sava in the 13th century and it is dedicated to Saint Archangels Michael and Gabriel.
The first written record dates back to the mid- seventeenth century. The present church was built in the site of the older one which was set aflame in 1848. The iconostasis made by Teodor Ilić – Česljar from the eighteenth century was also destroyed at that time. The church was restored in the seventies of the nineteenth century, the new iconostasis was cut by John Kistner, and the icons were painted by Aksentije Marodić. The appearance of the church itself should have achieved resemblance to the medieval Manasija which was partially managed by the builders. Residence which is located next to the monastery is from the nineteenth century and there is a small memorial – the museum dedicated to Jovan Rajić, the Archimandrite of the monastery and the first author of the history of the Serbs, Croats and Bulgarians.