Vršac, one of the oldest towns in Banat, is situated on the south-east edge of the Pannonian plain, on the slopes and at the bed of the Vršačke Planine (the Vršac mountains), where fresh woodland air and whiff of local vineyards descends to the town. Vršac is a synthesis of old and new.

Various historical buildings of quite versatile styles and numerous institutions are a testament to one of the most interesting cultural histories among the Vojvodinian tows. The Vršac mountains are mostly of upland and hill composition with the central mountainous part. The highest peak is Gudurički vrh which is 641 meters high, and as such the highest peak in Vojvodina.

The climate is moderately continental with long and warm summers, cold and snowy winters, fresh and short springs, and mild autumns. The specific feature of this territory is a wind called košava. There aren’t many waterways on the territory of the Vršac municipality. The town itself has an artificial lake which is also a city bath.

The cultural and historic heritage of Vršac is abundant. It is the birthplace of Jovan Sterija Popović, Paja Jovanović, Bora Kostić, and many other prominent artists.

The Municipality consists of the town Vršac and 23 villages: Vatin, Veliko Srediste, Vojvodinci, Vlajkovac, Vrsački Ritovi, Gudurica, Zagajica, Izbiste, Jablanka, Kustilj, Mali Zam, Malo Srediste, Markovac, Mesic, Oresac, Pavlis, Parta, Potporanj, Ritisevo, Socica, Straza, Uljma and Susara.

More information

Address: Trg Pobede 1, Vršac
Phone: +381 (0)13 832 999, +381 (0)13 831 055, fax: +381 (0)13 838 050
E-mail: toovrsac013@gmail.com
Web: www.to.vrsac.com


The Orhodox temple in Vršac, built in 1785., during the time of bishoup Nikola Dimitrijević. The iconostasis was painted by Pavel Đurković and Aksentije Marković did the curving work. Wall paintings and vault were painted by Simeon Jakšić and Mihajlo Popović. The maker of kissing icons is Nikola Nešković, and one of the most famous…


When the seat of the ancient Diocese of Vršac was returned from Caransebes to Vršac in 1950, by the efforts of the Bishop of Vršac Jovan Georgijević (1749-1769), the construction of the Bishop’s Palace was started. It was being built for residential needs of the Bishop and the cornerstone consecrated 1757. By the grace of…


Vršac got the city hall after two communities have united in 1795. – Serbian  Vršac and German  Vršac – into one city. Since 1717. they have been independent. For the needs of the administration the house of Maksim Stajić has been hired. In 1859. the administration began building the new one. In it’s base the…


This magnificent building is the symbol of the city. It is built by the despot Djuradj Branković in 1439 on a hill which is 399 meters high. The height of the outer walls is 19.85 m, and the apartment walls are wide 13.80 m and 11 m. After the Karlovac peace treaty had been made…


The City public and school library was founded in 1887 by Felix Mileker. The City Library of Vršas is one of the oldest libraries in the country, because it continued operations of Serbian casinos (1838) and the Serbian Reading Room (1840). Copies of forty thousand books over the years increased to over 200,000 books. The…


Most likely it was built by someone from the Branković family in the XV century. In the XVIII century the monastery received a representative look that has been kept till today. At that time the quarters were rebuilt and the new narthex Baroque bell was built at the tower of the temple. Wall painting consists…