Titel is an old settlement, with Bač it is the oldest settlement in Bačka. Because of its position with the hill above the long plain and rivers that surround it (Tisa, Danube, Begej), Titel always had a good position for settlement.
A long time ago there lived Dacians, and then the Celts. At the beginning of the new era, space that was inhabited by Dacians and Scordisci was inhabited by Sarmat tribal Jazigi. The first written Roman monuments we found in the ruins on Titel hill from the end of the 1st
century AD. The Romans built their settlement, whose remains will be finally taken in 1790 when the settlers from the Belgrade made their settlement and used the material of the old Roman walls.
On the territory of Titel, during the centuries, there were many settlers from Mongol tribal Huns, Avars, Bulgarians, Germanic tribes, Goths, Gepids, and Slovene.
The Hungarians started inhabiting the territory at the end of the IX century and in the middle of the X century, they were ruling the territory around the delta of Tisa river and the Danube. At the end of the XI century the Hungarian King Laslo I founded the Avgustin monastery in Titel which marks the new era in Titel developing. This very rich monastery was very famous in Hungaria, and his head monks were very close to the King for the decades, they even had some functions. In the middle of the XII century, it was written that there were many people in Titel and that its inhabitants were big rich landlords. Since the end of the XIV century, the Titel was the biggest landlord capital in the southern part of Bačka. Around 1440 Titel was a part of the land that belonged to Đurađ Branković, which he got as the Hungarian feud.
Because there was constant danger of the Turks, the Cardinal Toma Bakač, in 1500 enlarges the fortress around the city. After Belgrade was conquered by the Turks (1521) the strategic importance of Titel Fortress was very big, it was the most important for the protection of the southern border. However, in March 1526. the city was conquered by the Turks. As the Hungarians left the settlement in front of the Turks, the monastery was left empty. Since 1541. Titel is the headquarter of Segedin sanjak.
Valuable facts about the settlement during the Turk occupation gives Evlija Čelebija, who wrote that in Titel at the beginning of the XVII century there exist three mosques, two tekyes, three Muslim schools, and four schools for getting the primary education. There was also one hamame, a very large street, the market with 70 shops and hans as well as 300 warehouses for the salt. Titel was ruled by the Turks until 1688 but not until 1699 when there was the Sremski Karlovaci peace agreement signed, Titel went under the rule of Austrians then again Turks, and so on. In that battle the Belgrade Džafer – Paša burnt the city in 1695, killing the thousand Serbian soldiers who were protecting the city, with their officer Stefan Prodan Šteta. There is an interesting fact that the soldiers were in the ground houses around the fortress. Considering the position and importance of the fortress, the Turks by the Karlovaci peace agreement (1699) strictly asked that the fortress can not be rebuilt, so its remains are very small today.
After signing the Karlovaci peace agreement in 1699., Austria formed Podunavska, Potiska, and Pomoriška military border.
Until 1747. Titel was in Podunavska military border, and then shortly in Potiska. When Potiska and Pomoriška military borders were left without army it entered the Potiski district, whose headquarters was in Bečej. 1763. Titel becomes the headquarters of Šajkaška battalion, which consisted of except title citizens, 13 borderline solders of the nearby settlements. The area between the Danube, Tisa, and Great Channel, to Temerin and Nadalj, got the name Šajkaška. The first battalion commander was Serbian Aron Stanisavljević. The main tasks of the soldiers were regulated by the special act, so-called Regulament. The soldiers were obliged according to the Emperor orders do the solder tasks in war and peace, on ground or water, to take care of the security on Danube, Tisa, and Sava and to protect the inhabitants of robbers. Every spring all the soldiers were coming to Titel for the practice which lasted a week.
The new status of the settlement made a change in the building corpus. Most of the public objects and houses were ruined during the Austrian – Turk wars. In Titel, the headquarters of the military battalion, according to the records of Franc Engel in 1786., there were 176 border soldiers houses which were partly built by the earth, and partly by bricks. It was said that Titel was built properly and that it had a Serbian (Ilir) school, orthodox church, and priests home, a catholic chapel, captains homes, a battalion surgeon, an economic office, an old main guard office, a restaurant, a butcher, six state wells, rifle shop, warehouse for the pontoons and boats. In the documents, there is a word about the pontoon which was driving people across the Tisa to Banat.
Titel was the part of the battalion until 1873. when it was left without the military and entered the Bač- Bodrog rectory. The territory of the battalion was divided into Titel and Žabalj community. The new way of life organization on this territory started. In the second half of the XIX century to the First World War nad between the wars, in Titel was recorded building crafts and it left valuable monuments as the document of developed social, cultural, and religious life.
Settled places of Titel community are Vilovo, Gardinovci, Lok, Mošorin, Titel and Šajkaš
PUBLIC COMPANY “TITELSKI BREG”
Address: Glavna 1, Titel
Phone: +381 (0)21 29 62 177, +381 (0)21 29 62 178