The Srbobran municipality is situated in the central part of Bačka and covers an area of 284 square kilometres. The municipality encompasses three settlements: Srbobran, Turija and Nadalj. The biggest part of the municipality lies on the left bank of the Great Bačka Canal. In the north and south Srbobran is surrounded by meander of the Krivaja streamlet which flows into the Great Bačka Kanal close to Turija.

The geographical position is very favourable. By the above mentioned the Great Bačka Canal Srbobran is, through the Danube and Tisa, connected with the major European waterways. There are also two main roads that intersect in the centre of Srbobran: the international route which connects middle and south Europe and the Sombor-Bečej route which connects the Danube and Tisa valley.

The oldest record about Srbobran dates back to 1338, where the town was called Sentomaš (St. Thomas). Srbobran has approximately 16.000 inhabitants, where Serbs make 70% of the population and Hungarians 30%