The cultural centre was built by voluntary work of the citizens in 1945. Since the foundation there are many sections: drama (for adults and children), folklore section, writing and art sections. The most active and most awarded section is drama section, so the Cultural Centre is the host of zonal meeting of drama clubs of…
Along the Sombor-Bečej canal and the railway and roadway which intersect mid-Bačka, there are 5 settlements which make the municipality of Kula: Crvenka, Ruski Krstur, Sivac, Kruščić, and Lipar. The multinational structure of the population is made of Serbs, Montenegrins, Croats, Ruthenians, Hungarians, Slovaks, Germans, Slovenians, Macedonians, and others. 10 km from Kula is the biggest Ruthenian settlement in Serbia – Ruski Krstur.
Kula is mentioned for the first time in the latter part of the 17th century. It was a settlement bordering with the Ottoman Empire and inhabited by the military. The place started to develop in the 18th century when various nations began to intensely settle into the area.
Kula is the place where many traditional amateur theatre plays are held. In Ruski Krstur, the traditional Ruthenian festival called the Red Rose is held every year.
Near the village in 1859., was built the small church, “Vodica”, on the place where in the years before there were some unexplained healings and showings of the Mother of God. In Ruski Krstur live nuns “The Sisters of the Holy Mother of God” and “Small Sisters”.
The church in the village as we know it today was built in 1784. and is dedicated to the Moving of the relics of St. Nicholas. Today Ruski Krstur is the centre of the exarchate for Greek-Catholics in Serbia, and that is how the church became the cathedral. Iconostasis in this church is under the…
According to the note on the stone monument, it was built in 1770., during the reign of Marija Terezija. On the note it is written on Latin “MARIA THERESIA AUGUSTA REGNANTE ANNO DOMINI 1770.”
The orthodox temple, which is for 200 years the shelter and the gathering place for all the orthodox believers. The church owns a large number of registers and church books. The church is dedicated to evangelist Marko. The church celebrates its patron saint on May, 8th.
The orthodox church in Sivac was built in 1784. is one of the most beautiful in Bačka. It is dedicated to the Moving of the relics of the St. father Nikolai. According to tradition throughout the centuries this is the fifth orthodox church in Sivac.
In Mali Stapar near the canal locks and the old mill on one side and spacious plains on the other, there is a wine house “Ačanski”. The object, which offers good food and wine, is easily reached. At the centre of Sivac, you turn left from the main road Novi Sad – Sombor, and then…
Outdoor swimming pool with accompanying buffet, beach volleyball and basketball courts. In summer swimming pool operates from 10am to 18pm. There is also a swimming school, and diving competitions off a diving board is held.