On the south slopes of the Fruška Gora, midway between Novi Sad and Ruma, Irig and its settlements (Vrdnik, Rivica, Jazak, Grgeteg, Neradin, Šatrinci, Velika Remeta, Krušedol Selo, Krušedol Prnjavor, Mala Remeta
) are situated.
The first records of Irig date back to 1225. Irig frequently changed its governors during the medieval times and had been ruled by the Ottoman Empire for quite a long time. By the end of the 18th century (1796) the plague killed most of the inhabitants (2548 people died). Before the epidemic, Irig was the most developed “capital” of Srem and that was again in the 19th century.
Irig, as a significant cultural and educational center with the Hopovo monastery in close proximity, got the Serbian library in 1928. During the Second World War, from 1941 to 1944, Irig was one of the main strongholds of the fight against Nazism. Irig is a charming tourist place of outstanding natural beauty, with orchards and vineyards (where famous vines are being produced) and old monasteries. Closeby is Vrdnik, which has a health spa called Termal with swimming pools. Irig is the place where traditional Days of Dositej Obradović (the famous Serbian illuminator) are being held.
TOURISM ORGANISATION OF IRIG MUNICIPALITY
: Ribarski trg 16, Irig (office), Karađorđeva bb, Vrdnik (info center)
: +381 (0)22 465 633, +381 (0)22 465 466