As in everybody’s case, Novi Sad, as our hometown, is the most beautiful city to us.
On the map, made by Gerhard Mercator in the 16th century, in the place of today’s Novi Sad, there was a settlement called Bistriz. In its journal about traveling down the Danube river, Hans Christian Andersen mentions Novi Sad as the “water city”.
Novi Sad “sprouted” on the fertile ground, along the bridgehead across the fortress, some three hundred years ago. On 1st February 1748, the Austro-Hungarian Empress Maria Theresa awarded Novi Sad with the status of a royal town. It was then that Novi Sad was called by its today’s name. In that time, no man from the Fruška Gora could marry if he hadn’t planted a new seedling (Serb. seedling=sad, new=novi).
The city area covers some 130 square kilometers and has 235.000 inhabitants. The first ferry (raft), which connected Novi Sad and Petrovaradin, was put in the place in 1213 and the last one in 1999. Novi Sad is quite sensitive to its bridges. 134 pontoon bridges have been constructed from the 1720s until the 1920s. The history of these bridges is another story, a story so special that sometimes Novi Sad was called “the town where the river runs above the bridges”.
TOURISM ORGANISATION OF THE CITY OF NOVI SAD
Address: Trg Slobode 3 (Apolo center), Novi Sad
Phone: +381 (0)21 66 18 383, +381 (0)21 66 18 390
TOURIST INFO CENTER “JEVREJSKA”
Mon – Fri 7:30 – 17:00
Saturday 09:00 – 14:00
+381(0)21 66 17 343
TOURIST INFO CENTER “BULEVAR”
Bul. Mihajla Pupina 9
Mon – Fri 7:30 – 17:00
+381(0)21 421 811
Bed and Breakfast hotel ‚‚Panorama Aqualux‚‚ is located in the peacefully part of Novi Sad on the coast of Danube with unique view. The hotel location is exceptional because the hotel guests can in every moment enjoy in beautiful panorama of Fruska Gora and the Danube. Hotel allows to rest and relaxe and in the…
If you find yourself in Novi Sad, it is inevitable to visit BIG shopping center. As the biggest center for shopping and entertainment for whole family, BIG offers more than 100 shops, restaurants and cafes, such as H & M, Mango, C & A, New Yorker, Deichmann, McDonalds, KFC and many others. BIG shopping center…
The Fruška Gora farm is located by the Danube in the count’s garden of the Karačonji court from 1797. at the very entrance to the count’s (Kamenica) park. Restaurant Fruškogorski salaš is surrounded by beautiful canopies and greenery. An ideal place to enjoy quiet outside the everyday city noise. We offer exclusive cuisine in an…