In Burcel-Todorov Winery, the wines are made foremost of the grapes grown in the vineyard situated on the sunniest slope of Fruska Gora, on Banstol or “King’s Hill” as it was known for a long time. Understandably, the rich experience of the family winery has to be accompanied by modern technology and, nowadays, the range…
As in everybody’s case, Novi Sad, as our hometown, is the most beautiful city to us.
On the map, made by Gerhard Mercator in the 16th century, in the place of today’s Novi Sad, there was a settlement called Bistriz. In its journal about traveling down the Danube river, Hans Christian Andersen mentions Novi Sad as the “water city”.
Novi Sad “sprouted” on the fertile ground, along the bridgehead across the fortress, some three hundred years ago. On 1st February 1748, the Austro-Hungarian Empress Maria Theresa awarded Novi Sad with the status of a royal town. It was then that Novi Sad was called by its today’s name. In that time, no man from the Fruška Gora could marry if he hadn’t planted a new seedling (Serb. seedling=sad, new=novi).
The city area covers some 130 square kilometers and has 235.000 inhabitants. The first ferry (raft), which connected Novi Sad and Petrovaradin, was put in the place in 1213 and the last one in 1999. Novi Sad is quite sensitive to its bridges. 134 pontoon bridges have been constructed from the 1720s until the 1920s. The history of these bridges is another story, a story so special that sometimes Novi Sad was called “the town where the river runs above the bridges”.
TOURISM ORGANISATION OF THE CITY OF NOVI SAD
Address: Trg Slobode 3 (Apolo center), Novi Sad
Phone: +381 (0)21 66 18 383, +381 (0)21 66 18 390
TOURIST INFO CENTER “JEVREJSKA”
Mon – Fri 7:30 – 17:00
Saturday 09:00 – 14:00
+381(0)21 66 17 343
TOURIST INFO CENTER “BULEVAR”
Bul. Mihajla Pupina 9
Mon – Fri 7:30 – 17:00
+381(0)21 421 811
The vineyard and cellar owned by Sava Savic are situated in Sremska Kamenica, on the slopes of Fruska Gora. The tradition of vine growing of Savic family is over 150 years old. In 1854, Jova Savic, Sava’s great-great-grandfather, came to Kamenica and there he planted his first vine stock. Love for grapes and wine has…
The castle was built in stages at the end of XVIII and at the beginning of XIX century (from 1797 to 1811). Even today there is the board above the entrance where it is written that the castle was built by noble family Marcibanji de Puho. The Spanish king Philip spent some time here. From…
Futog landed estate was owned by Čarnojević family from 1744.- 1770. and it was one of the biggest in Bačka. The landed estate was bought by The Duke Andreas Hadik. He also built the castle on the idea of the architect Franciscusa de Paola Manetha in 1777. The Duke Andreas Hadik was Austrian high officer…
The remainders of the antic fortress with the pier, are found on the left bank of the river Danube, in Begeč on the road from Kuva to Acke. It was built at the end of the III century as the fortification opposite to fortress of Bononia (Banoštor). Smaller archeological diggings were done in 1902., while…
At the end of 2005, a new Carda (Tavern) was opened in Futog. Its name “Plavi Dunav” (Blue Danube) suites it perfectly, especially during sunny summer days. A beautiful view of the Danube stretches from the upper terrace of Carda. It encompasses an area of almost 20 km, from Banostor to Sremska Kamenica. You can…
Carda (Tavern) with years of experience in preparing fish dishes. Enjoy on the banks of the Danube in a pleasant environment with excellent fish and tamburitza sounds.
Carda (Tavern) “Liman” is situated in a beautiful ambiance, within a Nautical Club “Liman”. It offers a great variety of fish specialties and grill dishes.