The first church was erected in 1718 by the Serbs who moved from the Almaş village in the suburbs of contemporary Petrovaradin Rampart (Petrovardinski Šanac). Built from brushwood, it could not last long, thus in the same place the new slightly larger one was built. The Bishop of Backa, Visarion Pavlović consecrated it on the…
As in everybody’s case, Novi Sad, as our hometown, is the most beautiful city to us.
On the map, made by Gerhard Mercator in the 16th century, in the place of today’s Novi Sad, there was a settlement called Bistriz. In its journal about traveling down the Danube river, Hans Christian Andersen mentions Novi Sad as the “water city”.
Novi Sad “sprouted” on the fertile ground, along the bridgehead across the fortress, some three hundred years ago. On 1st February 1748, the Austro-Hungarian Empress Maria Theresa awarded Novi Sad with the status of a royal town. It was then that Novi Sad was called by its today’s name. In that time, no man from the Fruška Gora could marry if he hadn’t planted a new seedling (Serb. seedling=sad, new=novi).
The city area covers some 130 square kilometers and has 235.000 inhabitants. The first ferry (raft), which connected Novi Sad and Petrovaradin, was put in the place in 1213 and the last one in 1999. Novi Sad is quite sensitive to its bridges. 134 pontoon bridges have been constructed from the 1720s until the 1920s. The history of these bridges is another story, a story so special that sometimes Novi Sad was called “the town where the river runs above the bridges”.
TOURISM ORGANISATION OF THE CITY OF NOVI SAD
Address: Trg Slobode 3 (Apolo center), Novi Sad
Phone: +381 (0)21 66 18 383, +381 (0)21 66 18 390
TOURIST INFO CENTER “JEVREJSKA”
Mon – Fri 7:30 – 17:00
Saturday 09:00 – 14:00
+381(0)21 66 17 343
TOURIST INFO CENTER “BULEVAR”
Bul. Mihajla Pupina 9
Mon – Fri 7:30 – 17:00
+381(0)21 421 811
The orthodox church dedicated to St. Peter and Paul, according to the notes from the beginning of the century, it dates from 1702. or 1704. There are some notes about the bell of Arsenije III Čarnojević, the supreme leader of Serbian orthodox church from 1737., which disappeared long ago. The church is of the usual…
According to the written documents of Franc Šams, the military cahpel, in the Casemate, existed in the second part of the XVIII century. The permission for it was asked by mitropolit Pavle Nenadović. It was part of the military hospital, towards the Belgrade gate, and at the end of XIX century it was placed on…
The church was built in 1776. in baroque style.
The church was built to commemorate the victory of the Austrian army over the Turks in 1716. A small chapel without the tower, which was destroyed by the Turks during the 16th century was formerly located in the same place. A wooden mosque with a minaret and a dervishes residence were also built and in…
The old orthodox church, dedicated to the Birth of the Most Holy Mother, was started to built from the base on the place of the previous church of the Entry of the Most Holy Mother in 1737, with the founder Živan Crnogorac. Until 1744., it was finished only to do the primary church rituals, on…