The town centre of Sremski Karlovci, surrounding Branko Radicevic Square, represents exceptionally valuable architectural, cultural and historical unity, created during 18th, 19th and the beginning of the 20th century, with the baroque fountain made of rose marble in the middle. Fountain “Four Lions” was built in 1799 in honour of finishing the first public system of water supply. The construction of the system had started after the great plague epidemic in 1795. The most monumental building of the town, the Patriarchal Residence, is also situated on the square. It was being built from 1892 to 1894. Next to the Residence, there is the Serbian Orthodox Cathedral, built in 1762, with two bell towers. Its baroque iconostasis of the superb artistic value was painted by Teodor Kracun and Jakov Orfelin. There is the Roman Catholic Church from 1768 in the vicinity. The building of Karlovci’s Grammar School is also situated on the square. It represents the donation of Andjelic brothers. It is a rare example of Hungarian secession, an architectural style dominant at the end of the 19th century, in combination with the elements of the Serbian medieval architecture. The edifice was built by Djula Partos, an architect from Budapest, in 1890 and 1891. The Town Hall, the most significant secular building, was built in neoclassic style in 1811. There is another representative edifice built in the same style – the Building of Common Funds, which dates from the beginning of 20th century. The project of this building was made by an architect Vladimir Nikolic. There are several other old buildings on the square, including the Pharmacy from 1890. This square represents the whole of the utmost importance for the Serbian culture.
Address : Sremski Karlovci