The first church was erected in 1718 by the Serbs who moved from the Almaş village in the suburbs of contemporary Petrovaradin Rampart (Petrovardinski Šanac). Built from brushwood, it could not last long, thus in the same place the new slightly larger one was built. The Bishop of Backa, Visarion Pavlović consecrated it on the 30th January, 1733. Afterwards, a new building which was consecrated in 1797 was built above the old church. It is the largest Orthodox church in Novi Sad. It has had today’s appearance since the end of the 18th century when it was renovated in the style of early classicism for the last time. The woodcarvings of the interior were crafted by Aksentije Marković while the iconostasis and frescoes were done by Arsenije Teodorović, a famous painter who was buried in the churchyard. Uroš Predić painted the icon of Virgin Mary on the throne.
27. 01. 2013.